1. Help Docs
  2. User Management

User Management Definitions

This article will give a detailed account of the User Management Definitions available within Gatekeeper when setting up your userbase.

For background, please read the User Management guide.

 

The following will provide a description of each of the available user management definitions within Gatekeeper.

  1. Roles
    1. Administrator
    2. Collaborator
    3. Custom (Role Based Access Control)
    4. Employee Portal Only (Requires Employee Portal Module)
  2. Permissions
    1. All
    2. Own Team
    3. Owned Only
  3. Workflow Groups
  4. eSign Permissions
    1. Sender
    2. Signer
  5. Additional Permissions
    1. Users
    2. Configuration
    3. History
    4. Reports
    5. Workflow Administrator

Roles

Roles define what the user can do:

Administrator - Write Access. Add, Delete and Edit data.

Collaborator - Read Only Access. Collaborators have restricted access but maintain the full range of Collaborative function.  

Custom - Custom Roles are defined by RBAC. RBAC or 'Role Based Access Controls' give a greater level of granularity to your user permissions. 

RBAC is included in all Enterprise Plans and can be purchased as an additional module for Contract Now, Pro, and Essentials Plans.

Employee Portal Only - Provides a more restrictive level of access. Users have minimal visibility of Contract & Vendor objects but can 'Submit Requests' via the Employee Portal.

This requires the Employee Portal addon module. Please speak to your Account Executive or CSM for further information.

Permissions

Permissions define what a user can see.

All - Users will be able to see all Contracts and Vendors in your tenant

Own Team - Users will only be able to see Contracts and their associated Vendors based on their Team

Owned Only - Users will only be able to see objects that they are explicitly set as an Owner of

Workflow Groups

Workflow Groups are used explicitly to set ownership within phases of Workflows. These can be set up as static groups of users. For example, the 'IT Team' Workflow Group may contain all members of the IT Team who are required to interact with an explicit phase within a Workflow.

eSign Permissions

eSign Permissions enable the ability to set both who can send a document for eSign, as well as who can be set as a Signatory

eSign Sender - Provides the ability for this user to send documents for eSign

eSign Signer - Provides the ability for this user to be set as an authorised signatory within eSign

Additional Permissions

 

This area enables a user to be provisioned with additional permissions.

Additional

Users - Enables a user to manage user access rights and permissions in Gatekeeper (including their own access)

Only available to users whose Role + Role Permissions = Administrator + All

Configuration - Please see our guide on the full range of Configuration options available.

Only available to users whose Role + Role Permissions = Administrator + All

History - Enables a user to access an unrestricted history of all user activity in Gatekeeper.

Reports - Enables a user to run and export reports on all data within Gatekeeper.

Workflow Administrator - Enables a user to manage all Workflows within Gatekeeper.